Lois Clifford

Encounter by Lois Clifford | PAROUSIA Magazine


From the deep comes a whisper of reassurance
Reminding me that you are God of the second chance.
Suddenly the atmosphere is filled with awe
But you see my blemishes and every flaw.
I come undone and feel great shame
For you are perfect and Holy is your name.
How can you love a sinner like me
Who strayed from your laws of Liberty?
But in the silence I start to surrender
To your love, for now I remember
That you leave the rest to find the one who strays
Which shows the depth of your love, mercy and grace.
Instantly I'm enveloped in the sweetest love
For you are kind and patient and as gentle as a dove.
I belong to you, Abba, marked with a ring
No longer a slave but a daughter of the king.
“ The past is forgotten and washed in the sea
So take your rights for place as royalty.”
These words I hear you clearly say.
With that, I move forward with hope for today.

I live in Ontario Canada and I only have written a handful of poems but I very much enjoy writing as I feel it connects me to God and I hope to write many more in my life time and I am curious to see how people respond to them.  

Lois Clifford

Leave a comment