Two Poems from Katie Pennington – PAROUSIA Magazine

The Hard Work

Lord, it’s hard, hard work down here
And the blue in the sky isn’t gentle to me
It’s as cruel as the heat and it seems the
only relief
is the
sweat
and tears
dripping down
my cheeks, Lord
So I can’t stop
Crying out
To You

Then

Your Hand comes down
Like a gush of cool, cool water
And then I feel You in the way the wind blows
In the way You know
Every
Last
Hair
On my head

Yes, it’s hard, hard work down here.
And I sweat. And I ache. And I cry.
And the sun may bear down on me

But

The Son bore the Cross for me
And He wept.
And He prayed.
And He was crucified.
So that there could be a way
To set our sin-bound souls free.
So

I’ll do the hard, hard work down here.
And I’ll do it with a smile across my tear-stained face
Because if I do it
If I do it
They just might know His Grace.



Yet

We stare at the same stars as Jesus did.
Yet His eyes burn brighter than they do.
His hands were nailed into a cross.
Yet they are still gentle.
We walk on the same earth as Jesus did.
Yet He was the one to die for it.
His words alone can stop time.
Yet instead He tells us He loves us.
We feel the same wind that Jesus did.
Yet His Breath of Life is stronger than any gust ever will be.
His face is too holy for us to look at.
Yet He is sitting at the table with us, now.

Biography:

Katie Pennington is a college senior at Eastern Kentucky University, where she majors in English. She is from Hazard, Kentucky, and at times, allows her roots to inspire her writing. She splits her time between Kentucky and Tennessee, and spends most of that time reading or watching old films. In addition to writing poems about her faith, she also occasionally writes about history, the human condition, and music, which are of great interest to her.

Leave a comment